top of page




Feel free to reach out to us if you have any questions regarding the event.


The AASLE 2023 Conference was hosted by the National Taiwan University, Taipei on December 7-9, 2023. The three-day conference included parallel sessions, panels and talks by keynote and invited speakers:

​Keynote Speakers 

Stéphane Bonhomme (The University of Chicago)

Andrea Weber (Central European University)

Invited Speakers

Abi Adams-Prassl (University of Oxford)

David Dorn (University of Zurich)

Hitoshi Shigeoka (University of Tokyo)

Alessandra Voena (Stanford University)

AASLE is an important platform for scholars in the Asia-Pacific region to research and exchange ideas. The annual AASLE conference supports and encourages discussions and exchanges on research, policies, and applications in labor economics. In 2023, the conference will be hosted by the Department of Economics at National Taiwan University.


All presenters of AASLE2023 have now received an invitation to submit their presented paper to the Special Issue of Labour Economics. The deadline for submission is January 31, 2024, and the special issue is expected to be published by November 2024.

Please note that, in addition to the usual requirements for submissions to Labour Economics (see below) we have decided on two additional requirements to stimulate concise papers and to improve the efficiency of the reviewing process:


  1. submitted papers have no more than 12,000 words, excluding title page and abstract, tables and figures, and list of references;

  2. the number of figures and tables must add up to no more than 10 and they must cover no more than 10 pages in reasonable layout.

Finally, please note that in case you have submitted this paper before to a regular issue or another special issue of Labour Economics, you cannot submit it again to this conference issue. The reverse also applies: if you submit to the conference issue, you cannot later submit to another regular or special issue of Labour Economics. Similarly, if your paper is under consideration or has been accepted for publication by a journal other than Labour Economics, it also cannot be submitted to this conference issue.

Labour Economics is the official journal of the EALE, and one of the most cited field journals in Labour Economics. We hope that you will consider the conference volume as an outlet for publishing your very interesting work.

Please do not hesitate to contact us, should you have any further questions.

Best Wishes,


Hyejin Ku and Hitoshi Shigeoka

(Conference Volume Editors)



  1. Go to 

  2. Login as an "author"; then click on "submit paper". - If you don't have an Elsevier login or have forgotten it then click on their "home" link where you will find instructions on how to get one as a new user or a reminder for users already registered.

  3. Click on "submit new manuscript" and, in the drop-down "Article type" list, you need to choose ‘VSI AASLE 2023’. THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT AS OTHERWISE YOUR SUBMISSION WILL BE CONSIDERED FOR A NORMAL ISSUE OF THE JOURNAL. The conference issue submission window is available until 31st January 2024.

  4. Submissions to the special issue are free of charge.

  5. You will need to enter a title, upload a cover letter, an abstract and the manuscript and, if necessary, any other files - but the system is usually happy for you to include figures and tables in the text. Do not be overly concerned over formatting and style.

  6. The system will then compile all of these into a pdf for submission.

  7. You should check carefully that your submission has been compiled correctly.

  8. You are done. (Throughout the process there is a visible link to a ‘guide for authors’ if you get stuck.)


17 April 2023
Paper Submission Opens
17 July 2023
Deadline for Paper Submission
6 September 2023
Notification to Authors
30 September 2023
Early Registration Closes
31 October 2023
Draft Program Released
31 October 2023
Late Registration Closes
7-9 December 2023


  • Chon-Kit Ao (National Cheng Kung University)

  • Kuan-Ming Chen (National Taiwan University)

  • Yen-Chien Chen (National Taipei University)

  • Elliott Fan (National Taiwan University)

  • Maria Lambrianidou (AASLE)

  • Jungmin Lee (Seoul National University)

  • Ming-Jen Lin (National Taiwan University), Local Chair

  • Meng-Chi Tang (National Chung Cheng University)

  • Crystal Wong (National Tsing Hua University)

  • Joseph Tao-yi Wang (National Taiwan University)

  • Tzu-Ting Yang (Institute of Economics,Academia Sinica)

© 2023 Asian and Australasian Society of Labour Economics

bottom of page